Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Thread: E36 M3 Saloon

E36 M3 Saloon

So here goes, my CV 19 induced spare time build thread. This won’t be a restoration (famous last words) more of a re-commissioning. Will not be going for OEM spec on every bushing, bolt, etc. so if that’s your thing look away now, I’ve done all that before, nearly 10 years ago!! on an ae86 and to be honest I was nearly afraid to drive the car after, it really took the enjoyment out of it more than I thought it would worrying about paint chips, parking dents, etc etc. A car that can be driven and enjoyed without too much worry is the goal.

At this point I should add a disclaimer; I am not a mechanic; I don’t claim to be and do not work in the industry. This is a hobby and this thread is by no means a guide to completing any of this work just a journal of my efforts and hopefully someone else might enjoy it as much as I enjoy other people’s project threads.

This is what I’m working with, 1995 M3 Saloon:

IMG-20200314-WA0008 by Padraig Duffy, on Flickr

The basic plan for the car is:
    • Deal with the rust issues
    • Suspension and brake overhaul
    • Running gear overhaul – big end bearings/bolts, seals, fluids, etc.
    • Get it to a running & driving state and nct’d
    • Decide what level of bodywork to do – full respray?? Nothing??

The car has been off the road an estimated 10 years.

The story goes we (myself and some friends) bought it 2 years ago from a man in Shannon who is fairly well known for breaking m3s over the years. It had sat in Dublin, see pic of discs below, since 2009ish. So it goes that the owner is in Australia and had imported it from the UK, ran into some VRT debacle, and the father who was selling it for him would not let the service book with history go with it because the VRT info was in it, so unfortunately that may be lost forever.