Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Well I Have Moved, And I Kept On Moving - Scotland Road Trip May '18

Well I Have Moved, And I Kept On Moving - Scotland Road Trip May '18

In May this year I finished up with the company I had been working with for 9 years and took a long break between that and starting the new job. A bucket list item of mine was doing 'the lap of Scotland' and I decided to do just that and come back through England.

I set off for Belfast and overnighted there, taking the early Stena boat to Cairnryan, leaving at 7.30am and arriving at 9.50am. I had a long days driving ahead so I booked into Stena Plus and had a giant fry. The views sailing out of Belfast Lough were spectacular.

The city was quiet at 5am:

The 325i was primed for road:

The Tang were having a meeting outside the Port, probably discussing the price of Super Hampton boots and Scania jackets.

And the views sailing out of Belfast Lough were spectacular:

My destination for the night was Thurso, right at the top of Scotland. I had decided to do most of the North Coast 500 anti-clockwise and to finish in Glasgow, and was going to do the entire run up in one hit. My only stop would be the Cairnwell Pass (A93 between Braemar and the Spittal of Glenshee), the highest road in Britain at 670m.

I got off the boat and waited my turn patiently on the A77 towards Ayr until picking up dual carriageway, and then I made great progress to Glasgow, through the middle of the town on the M8 and up toward Perth on the M80/M9/A9, turning off for the Cairngorms near there and heading up into the mountains on the Old Military Road.

Last edited by Flet; 26-11-2018 at 10:39 PM.
    1998 Porsche 911 3.4 Carrera 2 (996)
    2000 Mazda MX-5 1.8 Jasper Conran #68/400
    2003 BMW 325i E46 Sport Touring