Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Impreza S5 WRC Replica

Hi All,

I've been lurking on Back Roads for some time and have been meaning to set up a project thread for a while. I have been building a 1997/98 Prodrive WRC S5 Replica since 2009 out of a V6 STI Type R Impreza. A wee taster of the car as how it stand at the minute...

IMG_9551 by Jamie Flett, on Flickr

IMG_1648 by Jamie Flett, on Flickr

This has been a bit of a slow burn this build, as my day job and a young family make finding the time to work on this near impossible. Certain financial limitations have slowed it too along the way. It's been fun to date... painful too with long spells of down-time due to other commitments... a close encounter with the car tipping off its axle stands... two cases of severe arc eye... and the odd trip to the A&E.

I'm going to starting posting as much of the content about the build that I have documented on another forum whenever I can. Please bear with me as there is a lot of it.

It all began when I bought my V6 Type R back in 2004. I had a deposit on a 00 Type R with 18k kilometers on it when the seller disappeared with a substantial deposit and left me high & dry. The unfortunate thing was I had sold my then current daily GT555 Impreza Turbo to fund it and was car-less but hell bent on buying a Type R. Back in 04 in Ireland these were not the most common car and when one came up for sale up in Antrim I jumped at the opportunity and bought it. This may have been a slightly emotional & rushed decision, as I do pride myself for being good at spotting accident damage but the car I'd bought, began to give me trouble a few months down the road and it was then I discovered that the previous owner had crashed the car (DS front) and 'failed' to tell me.